Default welcome msg!

NZ Fiction


Kind

Super yachts and stereotypes, #MeToo blunders and post-apocalyptic bolt holes, locking down and locking up - a thoroughly entertaining novel! High on the Southern Alps of New Zealand lies a falle..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Kiss of Death

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

kitten

..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Kitty

When 18-year-old Kitty Carlisle's father dies in 1838, her suddenly impoverished mother hopes her beautiful daughter might at least find a good husband. But then Kitty is compromised by an unscrupulou..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Kohine

Linked through recurring characters and themes, these haunting stories hurtle us into the streets of Tokyo and small-town New Zealand. The secular city of salarymen, sex workers and schoolgirls is jux..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Kotuku Shining Flight: Poems 1979 - 2022: 2022

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Kurangaituku

Kurangaituku is the story of Hatupatu told from the perspective of the traditional 'monster', Kurangaituku, the bird woman. In the traditional story, told from the view of Hatupatu, he is out hunting ..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Lack of Good Sons, A

..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Landed

From the author of Other Halves (1982) which won both the Wattie Book of the Year Award and the New Zealand Book Award for Fiction and sold more than 20,000 copies. It's the early 1990s in Timaru, and..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Landfall 242: Spring 2021

Landfall is New Zealand's foremost and longest-running arts and literary journal. It showcases new fiction and poetry, as well as biographical and critical essays, and cultural commentary. Each issu..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Landfall 243

Landfall is New Zealand's foremost and longest-running arts and literary journal. It showcases new fiction and poetry, as well as biographical and critical essays and cultural commentary. Each issue..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Landfall 244

Landfall is New Zealands foremost and longest-running arts and literary journal. Published twice a year, each volume showcases two full-colour art portfolios and brims with vital new fiction, poetry, ..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Landfall 245: Autumn 2023

..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Landfall 247: Autumn 2024

Landfall is New Zealand's foremost and longest-running arts and literary journal. Published twice a year, each volume showcases two full-colour art portfolios and brims with vital new fiction, poetry,..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Larry & Viv

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Letter to 'Oumuamua

In Letter to 'Oumuamua, James Norcliffe makes succinct observations about human life that traverse the personal and political. Grounded in the local but encompassing the global, they range through sub..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Letters to Young People

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Life and Death in Birkenhead

For readers who enjoy Jo Nesbo, and Ruth Rendell, this local thriller will have you on the edge of your seat. Within the small suburb of Birkenhead lurks a monster, one the local residents entrus..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Light Keeping

The year is 1977 and a shocking accident sees Robert and Jess suddenly orphaned. Finding refuge with their lighthouse keeper grandparents, they begin to navigate their loss and rebuild their lives. Bu..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Lioness (Hardback)

'The most exciting novel I've read in ages... I gulped it down, so readable, so EXCELLENT about people. Read it' Marian Keyes 'This novel is perfection' Glamour 'A coolly ironic look at modern wo..

Availability:

$NZ 49.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 49.99

Lioness *Ockham 2024 Longlist*

'Perkins is an extraordinary writer' The Sunday Times You know how we say we devoured a story, and also that we were consumed by it? Eating and being eaten. It was like that with Claire, for me. ..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Liveability

..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Loop Tracks

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Lost In The Spanish Quarter

As seen in the New York Times Book Review. Set in the passionate, intense, and crumbling neighborhood known as the Spanish Quarter of Naples, comes a tale of two students searching for love a..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Love & Money: The Writer's Cut

Film directors get to re-release with the changes they wish they had made. That is called The Director's Cut. Now, Greg McGee has done the same to his 2012 novel. Welcome to Love & Money: The Wr..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Magnificent Moon

Magnificent Moon is the eagerly awaited debut collection from one of the new stars of New Zealand poetry. Ashleigh Young's poems have been appearing in magazines for 10 years. She gained an MA in Crea..

Availability:

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Man Alone

..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

MAN. MADE.

..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Mary's Boy, Jean Jacques: and Other Stories

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Matriarch, The

The matriarch is a woman of intelligence, wit, beauty and ruthlessness, and has become a mythical figure through her fight to repossess the land and sustain her people against the ravages wrought by t..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Meantime

Cullinane in Aotearoa New Zealand and her mother in Ireland, a distance unbridgeable even by phone as Cullinane's mother's language was lost to dementia. Meantime calls and keens across this terrible ..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Meat Lovers

In this dazzling first collection, acclaimed Wellington poet and Canterbury farm-girl Rebecca Hawkes takes a generous bite from the excesses of earthly flesh - first 'Meat', then 'Lovers'. 'Meat' i..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Meeting Rita

Jenny Powell's MEETING RITA is a collection of forty-seven poems inspired by New Zealand artist Rita Angus (1908-70). Rita has shifted in time to become the poet's friend. As Powell says: "Rita and I ..

Availability:

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Middle Distance: Long stories of Aotearoa New Zealand

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Middle Youth

..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Mila and the Bone Man

It wasn't always like this... Mila cradles her mother close; only the bittersweet truth matters now but no, it wasn't always like this. Mila is a child of the northern bush and she has a gift. Desce..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Missing

..

Availability:

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Mister Pip

One of the biggest novels ever published in New Zealand, and a bestseller throughout the world, the dazzling Mister Pip becomes available in B-format. Lloyd Jones' novel has been acclaimed throughout ..

Availability:

$NZ 27.50 $NZ 30.00 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.50

Monsters in the Garden: An Anthology of Aotearoa New Zealand Science Fiction and Fantasy
Moonlight Sonata

A bitter-sweet novel of forbidden love and family secrets. 'Some secrets should never be told.' It's the annual New Year family get-together. Molly is dreading having to spend time with her ..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

More Than a Roof: Housing, in poems and prose

More than a roof comprises 122 poems, (including a collective poem by 16 Mana College students and a poem by 12-year-old Wellingtonian Maytal Noy). There are poems by well-known writers James Brown, A..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Mother's Day

A heart-warming new novel by the author of Edwin and Matilda, runner-up for the Montana Award in 2008. Life is tough for 40-year-old solo mother Maggie, a home help caregiver. Her three children ..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Mr Allbone's Ferrets

An historical, pastoral, satirical, scientifical romance, with mustelids. A young man out poaching. A beautiful maiden in a mysterious house. A perilous voyage to distant islands. All the ingredients ..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Mrs Jewell and the Wreck of the General Grant *Ockham 2023 Short List*

It's 1866 and the three-masted sailing ship General Grant is on the southern route from Melbourne to London, with gold from the diggings secreted in returning miners' hems and pockets. In the fog and ..

Availability:

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Naming the Beasts

Naming the Beasts is a menagerie of poems about the gnarlier aspects of being a creature of this world. Morton's poems take a bite out of the world around us, as they explore reality through the vital..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Navigating the Stars: Maori Creation Myths

From master storyteller Witi Ihimaera, a spellbinding and provocative retelling of traditional Maori myths for the twenty-first century. In this milestone volume, Ihimaera traces the history of..

Availability:

$NZ 44.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 44.99

New Transgender Blockbusters

The dead should come back changed, or what's the point? Why do you hide your head beneath the bedclothes? Doesn't everyone name themselves? Is your house a bottle? Are you trapped in..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Next

Writing from the eighth and ninth decades of his life, Alan Roddick's third collection of poetry, Next, examines the past, observes the present and speculates on the future. Anchored in the action o..

Availability:

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Night Fishing

..

Availability:

$NZ 24.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 24.99

Night Shifts: word from the heartland

NIGHT SHIFTS reaffirms Pat White's preoccupation with landscape, love, history, and nature in poems that have been described by Jack Ross as "beautiful, unassuming and perfectly paced, all at the same..

Availability:

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

No Other Place to Stand:  Anthology of Climate Change Poetry from Aotearoa New Zealand

What, then, for the work of poetry? It's at the very periphery of popular speech, niche even among the arts, yet it's also rooted in the most ancient traditions of oral storytelling, no matter where y..

Availability:

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Showing 154 to 204 of 410 (9 Pages)

Categories

Copyright © 2017 University Book Shop. All rights reserved.

Site by Myth