Default welcome msg!

Books on Books


Aestheticism and the Marriage Market in Victorian Popular Fiction: The Art of Female Beauty

Based on close readings of five Victorian novels, Hallum presents an original study of the interaction between popular fiction, the marriage market and the aesthetic movement. She uses the texts to tr..

$NZ 86.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 86.99

Agatha Christie's Poirot: Greatest Detective in the World

From the very first book publication in 1920 to the film release of Death on the Nile in December 2020, this investigation into Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot celebrates a century of probably the wo..

$NZ 54.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 54.99

Assassin's Cloak: An Anthology of the World's Greatest Diarists, The

'A diary is an assassin's cloak which we wear when we stab a comrade in the back with a pen', wrote William Soutar in 1934. But a diary is also a place for recording everyday thoughts and special occa..

$NZ 54.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 54.99

Book Collectors of Daraya, The: A Band of Syrian Rebels, Their Underground Library, and the Stories that Carried Them Through a War

'There is no jail that can imprison the free word, nor is there a siege tight enough that can prevent the spread of information.' MAZEN DARWISH, Syrian human rights activist, in a speech given on Apri..

$NZ 39.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 39.99

Bookseller of Florence: Vespasiano da Bisticci and the Manuscripts that Illuminated the Renaissance

A gripping story of ancient wisdom, new technology and 'the king of the world's booksellers', set in Renaissance Florence A gripping story of ancient wisdom, new technology and 'the king of the w..

$NZ 39.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 39.99

Bookseller's Tale, The

'The right book has a neverendingness, and so does the right bookshop.'This is the curious story of our long love affair with books. Whether comfort reads or cult novels, we carry them with us, inhale..

$NZ 39.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 39.99

Brief Notes on the Art and Manner of Arranging One's Books

One of the most singular and extravagant imaginations of the twentieth century, the novelist and essayist Georges Perec was a true original who delighted in wordplay, puzzles, taxonomies and seeing th..

$NZ 12.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 12.99

Call Me Ishmael Phone Book: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books, The

For fans of My Ideal Bookshelf and Bibliophile, The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is the perfect gift for book lovers everywhere: a quirky and entertaining interactive guide to reading, featuring voicema..

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Daily Rituals: How Great Minds Make Time, Find Inspiration, and Get to Work

Utterly fascinating' Daisy Goodwin, Sunday Times Benjamin Franklin took daily naked air baths and Toulouse-Lautrec painted in brothels. Edith Sitwell worked in bed, and George Gershwin composed a..

$NZ 19.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 19.99

Dear Reader

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Last Act of Love. 'Reading has saved my life, again and again, and has held my hand through every difficult time' For as long as she can remem..

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Don DeLillo, American Original: Drugs, Weapons, Erotica, and Other Literary Contraband

Don DeLillo, American Original is a startlingly original and provocative reinterpretation of one of the most important novelists of the 20th and 21st centuries. Adopting a direct approach that steers ..

$NZ 49.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 49.99

Emily Dickinson Notecards

..

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Enchanted Hour, The : The Miraculous Power of Reading Aloud in the Age of Distraction

'As soon as I began to read, I was filled with that kind of engrossed blossoming that happens somewhere inside of you when you start a really nourishing book.' - Pandora Sykes A conversatio..

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Encyclopedia of Rainbows Notecards

..

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Ex Libris: 100+ Books to Read and Reread

From renowned, Pulitzer Prize-winning literary critic, Michiko Kakutani, comes an inspiring and gorgeously illustrated selection of the life-changing books that none of us should miss 'Why do w..

$NZ 39.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 39.99

Faber & Faber: The Untold Story

Faber and Faber is one of the world's greatest independent publishers. Literary superstars like T.S.Eliot, William Golding, Ted Hughes, and Sylvia Plath are synonymous with the name 'Faber', as are th..

$NZ 44.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 44.99

Fierce Bad Rabbits: Tales Behind Children's Picture Books

What is The Tiger Who Came to Tea really about? How is Meg and Mog related to Polish embroidery? And why does death in picture books involve being eaten? Fierce Bad Rabbits explores the stori..

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Gin Austen: 50 Cocktails to Celebrate the Novels of Jane Austen

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a person in possession of this good book must be in want of a drink. In six enduring novels, Jane Austen captured the fancies and foibles of Regency E..

$NZ 39.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 39.99

How Should One Read a Book?

'Where are we to begin? How are we to bring order into this multitudinous chaos and so get the deepest and widest pleasure from what we read?' Published for the first time as a standalone volume,..

$NZ 19.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 19.99

How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor: A Smart, Irreverent Guide to Biography, History, Journalism, Blogs, and Everything in Between

The New York Times bestselling author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor uses the same skills to teach how to access accurate information in a rapidly changing 24/7 news cycle and become bette..

$NZ 34.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 34.99

Janet Frames World of Books

This study investigates how Janet Frame weaves together literary sources from her extensive reading to create a web of intertextual relationships. Patricia Neville traces Frames passion for books begi..

$NZ 119.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 119.99

John McConnell: Design

John McConnell's list of collaborators includes many household names - Boots, Faber & Faber, Halfords, Clarks, John Lewis. The man behind the Biba logo (for which he won the D&AD Silver in 1969), the ..

$NZ 47.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 47.99

Madman's Library, The: The Greatest Curiosities of Literature

'Anybody who loves the printed word will be bowled over by this amusing, erudite, beautiful book about books. It is in every way a triumph. One of the loveliest books to have been published for many, ..

$NZ 54.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 54.99

Moral Worlds of Contemporary Realism, The

Literature has never looked weirder--full of images, colors, gadgets, and footnotes, and violating established norms of character, plot, and narrative structure. Yet over the last 30 years, critics ha..

$NZ 49.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 49.99

New Torchlight List

"Writers' festivals, TV book shows, radio interviews, book clubs, TED Talks:today's novelists are a travelling roadshow. New books and their authors are thrown to the wolves, aka reviewers, to be sava..

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Reading the Seasons: Books Holding Life and Friendship Together

It's an old cliche that books 'transport you'; but as any avid reader will tell you, there's far more to them than that. Alongside comfort and retreat, books offer insight into ourselves and others; t..

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Rebel without a Clause

The English language is changing constantly. We invent new words and phrases, we mash up idioms, we mispronounce, misuse, misappropriate. Sue Butler has heard it all and is ready to defend and disagre..

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Satire, Celebrity, and Politics in Jane Austen

..

$NZ 99.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 99.99

Scandinavian Noir: In Pursuit of a Mystery

For forty years, Wendy Lesser's primary source of information for three Scandinavian countries-Sweden, Norway, and Denmark-was mystery and crime novels, and the murders committed and solved in their p..

$NZ 47.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 47.99

Secret Life of Books, The

We love books. We take them to bed with us. They weigh down our suitcases when we go on holiday. We display them on our bookshelves or store them in our attics. We give them as gifts. We write our nam..

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Secret Life of Books: Why They Mean More Than Words, The

We love books. We take them to bed with us. They weigh down our suitcases on holiday. We display them on our bookshelves, give them as gifts, write our names in them. We take them for granted. And all..

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Southern Cross Crime

Australian and New Zealand crime and thriller writing is booming globally, with antipodean authors regularly featuring on awards and bestseller lists across Europe and North America, and overseas read..

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Swallowed By a Whale

In this specially-commissioned anthology, sixty accomplished authors share secrets and insights into their writing lives: on their inspirations, methods, wild ideas and daily routines; on the pleasure..

$NZ 44.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 44.99

Thanks for Typing: Remembering Forgotten Women in History

This collection uncovers the wives, daughters, mothers, companions and female assistants who laboured in the shadows of famous men. Revealing the reality of uncredited female contributions throughout ..

$NZ 44.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 44.99

Torchlight List : Around the World in 200 Books

This witty, clever, mind-expanding and original book is destined to become a classic. A professor for over 40 years, Jim Flynn found fewer and fewer of his students were in love with reading. However,..

$NZ 32.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 32.99

Velocity of Being: Letters to A Young Reader, A

Age range 10+ An expansive collection of love letters to books, libraries, and reading, from a wonderfully eclectic array of thinkers and creators. In these pages, some of today's most wonde..

$NZ 49.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 49.99

Voices From the Past: A year of great quotations - and the stories from history that inspired them

In a treasure trove for history buffs, W.B. Marsh fleshes out the context behind famous quotations associated with each day of the year, sending us back and forth in history from the time of the Ancie..

$NZ 54.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 54.99

When I Was a Child I Read Books

Of Marilynne Robinson, Michael Arditti said that there is 'no contemporary novelist whose work I would rather read' However she is not only a writer of sharp, subtly moving prose, but also a rigorous ..

$NZ 27.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 27.99

Wild Things: The Joy of Reading Children's Literature as an Adult

An irresistible, nostalgic, insightful-and "consistently intelligent and funny" (The New York Times Book Review)-ramble through classic children's literature from Vanity Fair contributing editor (and ..

$NZ 29.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 29.99

Word Perfect

'Susie Dent is a one-off. She breathes life and fun into words and language' Pam Ayres 'Susie Dent is a national treasure' Richard Osman Welcome to a year of wonder through the E..

$NZ 37.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 37.99

Worlds of J.R.R. Tolkien, The : The Places that Inspired Middle-earth

This new book from renowned Tolkien expert John Garth investigates the places that inspired the Lord of the Rings author to create his fictional locations and other aspects of Middle-earth. Featuring ..

$NZ 49.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 49.99

Writer's Library:  Authors You Love on the Books That Changed Their Lives

NEW & NOTEWORTHY THE NEW YORK TIMES With a Foreword by Susan Orlean, twenty-three of today's living literary legends, including Donna Tartt, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Andrew Sean Greer, Laila Lalami,..

$NZ 59.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 59.99

Writers: Their Lives and Works

Introduced with a stunning portrait of each featured novelist, playwright, or poet, biographical entries trace the friendships, loves, and rivalries that inspired each individual and influenced their ..

$NZ 47.99 Ex Tax: $NZ 47.99

Showing 1 to 43 of 43 (1 Pages)

Categories

Copyright © 2017 University Book Shop. All rights reserved.

Site by Myth