Default welcome msg!

Book of the Month

Our 'Book of the Month' is a great read that we universally want to recommend to you, the reader. It might not be on the bestsellers' lists; it might not be a movie-tie-in edition of the latest blockbuster; it might not even be from an author (or publisher) that you even recognise. It will, however, be a book that our buyers and our staff recommend for its wit, its erudite nature, its beauty and literary lyricism.


Brief Answers to the Big Questions 

Stephen Hawking

Stephen Hawking was the most renowned scientist since Einstein, known both for his groundbreaking work in physics and cosmology and for his mischievous sense of humor. He educated millions of readers about the origins of the universe and the nature of black holes, and inspired millions more by defying a terrifying early prognosis of ALS, which originally gave him only two years to live. In later life he could communicate only by using a few facial muscles, but he continued to advance his field and serve as a revered voice on social and humanitarian issues.
Hawking not only unraveled some of the universe’s greatest mysteries but also believed science plays a critical role in fixing problems here on Earth. Now, as we face immense challenges on our planet—including climate change, the threat of nuclear war, and the development of artificial intelligence—he turns his attention to the most urgent issues facing us.
Will humanity survive? Should we colonize space? Does God exist? ​​These are just a few of the questions Hawking addresses in this wide-ranging, passionately argued final book from one of the greatest minds in history.
Featuring a foreword by Eddie Redmayne, who won an Oscar playing Stephen Hawking, an introduction by Nobel Laureate Kip Thorne, and an afterword from Hawking’s daughter, Lucy, Brief Answers to the Big Questions is a brilliant last message to the world.The man lay still in the centre of a dusty grave under a monstrous sky. Two brothers meet at the border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of outback Queensland. They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last chance for their middle brother, Cameron. The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish. Something had been troubling Cameron. Did he lose hope and walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects... For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape. Praise for Jane Harper 'The most exciting emerging novelist of the last 12 months...places Harper in the elevated company of the authors she so admires...Gillian Flynn and Lee Child' Mail on Sunday 'A major voice in contemporary fiction...an astonishing writer' A.J. Finn author of The Woman in the Window 'A storytelling force to be reckoned with' US Publishers Weekly

"A beautiful book from a brilliant mind" - The Daily Telegraph

"Almost everything in Brief Answers is effortlessly instructive, absorbing, up to the minute and - where it matters - witty" - Guardian 

"The best, most mind-bending sort of physics: Black holes, time travel, the origins of the universe." - The Times

Copyright © 2017 University Book Shop. All rights reserved.

Site by Myth